Missoni Dress

So here’s the thing. I want a Missoni dress or top.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/jaunty-2

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/-13-mini-dress

Basically you knit a long chevron tube and stripe it with different yarns. Sounds easy peasy.

Should I make it with cotton yarn or viscose yarn? IDK..

Let’s CO at the hem and work our way up. My last dress had a flared skirt, so let’s make this basically straight.

I don’t like sleeveless dresses (I live in Chicago), so the dress should have cap sleeves. Or be a loose t-topper style top.

Yes, let’s make a loose dress with shortie sleeves.

I want the dress to have positive ease, but the yarn I’m choosing is SUPER loose, so maybe I should knit to a no ease size.

How do I prevent the dress from growing? Crochet sc at the hem, sleeves and neck.

How else to prevent the dress from growing? I could tack out grosgrain ribbon and sew that in, but that seems really tedious.

I can’t be lazy about this, because I want to wear the dress more than once.

Size panels in a contrast stitch. Purl? Garter? Seed?

This dress will need to be worn with a slip.

Yarn:

Adrienne Vittadini Julia in RED (cotton DK)

Reynolds Rise and Shine in BLACK (cotton SPORT)

PATTERN IDEAS:

1. TWO COLOR FEATHER AND FAN

multiple of 18 st, IN THE ROUND

R1: k

R2: k

R3: (k2tog) x 3, (yo, k1) x 6, (k2tog) x 3

R4: p

2.RIPPLE

multiple of 16 st, IN THE ROUND

R1: p2, k6

R2: k4, p4

R3: k2, p2

R4: p4, k4

R5: p2, k6

R6: p2, k6

R7: k4, p4

R8: k2, p2

R9: p4, k4

R10: p2, k6

3. CHEVRON 1 IN THE ROUND

R1: p

R2: k.

R3: p.

R4: k

R5: p

R6: k2tog, k2, k2f&b, k3, sl1, k1, psso

R7: k

R8: k2tog, k2, k2f&b, k3, sl1, k1, psso

R9: k

R10: k2tog, k2, k2f&b, k3, sl1, k1, psso

R11: k

R12: k2tog, k2, k2f&b, k3, sl1, k1, psso

4. CHEVRON 2 IN THE ROUND

12 st repeat

R1: k

R2: k1, m1, k4, sl1, k2tog, psso, k4, m1

Chevron Rib

Chevron and Feather

So... whaddya think?

